3 in Fox Cities don't have a county sales tax

Three counties in the Fox Cities are among the few in the state that don't have a half-cent county sales tax.

Brown County won't be on that list starting next year, when a temporary tax takes effect.

Outagamie, Winnebago, and Calumet counties haven't tried to generate revenue that way.

Outagamie County Executive Tom Nelson says it's an issue that rarely comes up. He says they take a lot of pride that they have a strong tax base, and they spend within their means.

When Brown County's tax starts, there will only be seven counties without the half-cent tax.

The Brown County board overwhelmingly agreed to the tax on Wednesday night. It will be in place for six years. It's expected to bring in $147 million to pay for a variety of projects.